CSS problem in Firefox and Netscape

laszlomajor

I am new in css and I was trying to make something very simple. It did not work in Firefox 1.5 and Netscape 8.1 but worked in IE 6. I was using Amay 9.52 (found on w3 homepage) to write code. My css file is as simple as this:hr {width: 90%; color: #00ff00}p {margin-left: 100px; color: red}Only hr width was displaid correctly in Firefox and Netscape but IE displaid all correctly. Former ones did not display neigther color nor margin.I even tried to ommit all spaces:hr {width:90%; color:#00ff00}p {margin-left:100px; color:red}Still does not work.Can anyone help on this issue? Thank you

First, get Firefox 2. It has an inline spell checker.The CSS looks okay. I personally would put ending semi-colons on the second statements, but I don't think the browsers mind. It validates at least.Because the CSS is okay, I suspect the issue is with the HTML (or perhaps you have another stylesheet somewhere?) I'll need more info than what you have so far.

Dear shiftJIS San,Thank you for your reply.When I tried today again the margin and the paragraph color worked. I do not know why. However, the green horizontal line works only in IE6.

First, get Firefox 2. It has an inline spell checker.The CSS looks okay. I personally would put ending semi-colons on the second statements, but I don't think the browsers mind. It validates at least.Because the CSS is okay, I suspect the issue is with the HTML (or perhaps you have another stylesheet somewhere?) I'll need more info than what you have so far.