What exactly is SGML?

maidenforce19

I just learned how to write basic HTML so I am a complete newb, but as I was looking up information on the history of html on the web I saw a markup language called SGML that HTML is based off of. Now, I am confused. Is SGML a language that can be used by itself to make something (like a web site or a program)? Or is it a general language that can't actually do anything (at least nowadays) by itself, but other languages are based off of it? What exactly is SGML? And how is it different than HTML?

I just learned how to write basic HTML so I am a complete newb, but as I was looking up information on the history of html on the web I saw a markup language called SGML that HTML is based off of. Now, I am confused. Is SGML a language that can be used by itself to make something (like a web site or a program)? Or is it a general language that can't actually do anything (at least nowadays) by itself, but other languages are based off of it? What exactly is SGML? And how is it different than HTML?
HTML is a subset of SGML. You will never use SGML in your life so forget about it<g>.

That's not a great answer.If you really do know about SGML, would you care to explain about it?I researched it myself a long time ago to see what it was, and all I found was an explanation of the HTML DTD.

That's not a great answer.If you really do know about SGML, would you care to explain about it?I researched it myself a long time ago to see what it was, and all I found was an explanation of the HTML DTD.