Using an include to access user functions

henryhenry

I am trying to make my code a bit 'cleaner' and I am making useful functions out of things and then putting them in a nicely organised seperate 'function.php' file which I include on every page.I am a bit concerned that this may slow things down though especially as I'm using SQL in the functions. Right now it's not noticeable on my local machine (using localhost - apache). I have no real experience so I'm not sure if I'm going to regret this functions.php later? Is it better to put functions on the page itself or store in an include file? And is it better to use functions or to have the 'plain' code sitting in the page...Anyone have any guidance/experience - what do you do with functions?

Hi!When i have functions that I use, or may want to use, in different files I prefer to put them in a seperate file (such as functions.php), as it gets a lot easier to reuse them...To use functions to seperate for example different parts of the layout and/or data collection is a good way to get cleaner, and easier maintained, code. But be aware to not use too many functions as it then can be a nightmare to maintain...The use of functions shouldn't slow down the execution (as it's just another block of code, much like an if-statement), but what might slow things down is if you open and close the connection to the database many times (like once in every function), it's simpler and better to open the connection in the beginning of the file/script, use it in the functions and then close it...Hope that helped.Good Luck and Don't Panic!