Problem with form submissions in php and mySQL

music_lp90

Hi, I'm new to php and mySQL, but I've just learned how to create a form in html that links to a php page that sends the form data into a table in mySQL. The problem I'm having is that if someone tries to enter a message more than once, it won't let them because it won't allow duplicate names. How can I fix this?The table I created has the fields firstname VARCHAR(30)lastname VARCHAR(30)request LONGTEXTThis is the html<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN""http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd"><html><head><meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1"><title>Untitled Document</title></head><body bgcolor="#ffffff"><form action="insert.php" method="post">Firstname: <input type="text" name="firstname" />Lastname: <input type="text" name="lastname" /><br><br>Request: <textarea name="request" cols="100" rows="10"></textarea><br><input type="submit" /></form></body></html>and this is the php that inserts the request into the mySQL<?php$con = mysql_connect("myHost","myUsername","myPasword");if (!$con) { die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error()); }mysql_select_db("myDb", $con);$sql="INSERT INTO request (FirstName, LastName, request)VALUES('$_POST[firstname]','$_POST[lastname]','$_POST[request]')";if (!mysql_query($sql,$con)) { die('Error: ' . mysql_error()); }echo "request added";mysql_close($con)?>Thanks, any help is greatly appreciated.

First of All Do this.Table MUST have PRIMARY KEY, add 'iRequestId' as INT(50) set it AUTO_INCREMENT.I can't understand ur question. Please Explain What u want in output.EXPLAIN : 'The problem I'm having is that if someone tries to enter a message more than once, it won't let them because it won't allow duplicate names'

It's probably because one of your columns (firstname or lastname or both) has a constraint on it (e.g. a primary key). You could start by removing that constraint.