help with $_GET

denny911

Hello to everyone.I have a sort of search form on my. it consists of three form items.on the search.php i have a select statement with variables (i get them from $_GET variables coming from my form) included.something like this:$ctg = $_GET['frm_category'];$type = $_GET['frm_type'];$city = $_GET['frm_city'];

" SELECT * FROM $table1, tbl_users WHERE category = '$ctg' AND type = '$type'AND city = '$city' ORDER BY..  "

all in all, everything works just fine, UNLESS one (or several fields) not selected (their values being passed with NO VALUE).how can i avoid using ONE or MORE variables in my SELECT statement if no value has been passed from my form?i managed to do so using the IF statement(if VARIABLE empty --STATEMENT WITHOUT THAT VARIABLE-- else --STATEMENT WITH THAT VARIABLE INCLUDED)but, this seems to be complicated, so i wonder if there's any other way?I'm pretty new to PHP so.. :)Thanks in advanceDenis K., Bosnia H.

well, one solution would be to use wildcards

"SELECT * FROM $table1, tbl_users WHERE category LIKE '%".$ctg."' AND type LIKE '%".$type."'AND city LIKE  '%".$city".'"

i managed to do so using the IF statement(if VARIABLE empty --STATEMENT WITHOUT THAT VARIABLE-- else --STATEMENT WITH THAT VARIABLE INCLUDED)
That's the best way to do it, if you can find something that is less complicated then a basic if statement, please let the programming community know.

Maybe there should be a 'why not' statement in PHP?! That would be fun! Uh. I literally just did something like your doing. I put the 'LIKE' statements into an array so :

$likes= array();foreach ($values as $k=>$v) {  if (isset($_GET['this'])) {	$this= $_GET['this']; 	likes[]= "word LIKE '$this'";  }  elseif ...}

then in the query you use implode(" AND ", $likes)or you can change to OR (can't mix with this method) if the likes are optionalso something like

$sql= "SELECT col FROM table WHERE ".implode(" AND ", $likes);