question about setting up table for php/mysql phone directory

music_lp90

Hi, I'm creating an online phone directory for a site and am looking for suggestions on setting up my mysql table. The directory will list first and last names of the head(s) of the household, names of any others living with them, their home phone, cell phone, mailing address, email, and a picture if we have one for the listing. Right now I set the table up like this:id INT(11) auto_increment primary keylastname TEXTfirstname TEXTothernames TEXTphone TEXTcell TEXTaddress TEXTemail TEXTImgTitle VARCHAR default UntitledImgType VARCHAR default jpgImgData MEDIUMBLOBDoes this seem like a good way to set the table up? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, I'm pretty new at this. Thanks!

Don't make everything text. Text is for large blocks of text, most of those are just small text strings. Use varchar for most of those columns and set the length of each one appropriately. Don't use any more then you think you need. Also, it might be better (it would definately be faster) to save the image as a file on the server and just save the filename in the database instead of saving the image data in the database. It takes a small delay for PHP to get the data from the database, create an image object, and output it to the browser. It's not a big delay, but it's noticeable.