Needs Advice

Spinman

Hello All,I'm an amateur web-developer and am well versed in html, css and such. However I have a dilemna that I need a bit of advice/help with. A club I'm part of has asked me to build them a website for a workshop event they are hosting. I can do just about everything but the registration page. I need a way to submit the completed registration and have it be added as a row in an excel table that will be updated and emailed out once a day. Can anyone help with this? I have no idea what to do.Spinman

Guest FirefoxRocks

I don't think you can add the record in an Excel table but you can add it to a MySQL/MSSQL database and then export it into a table suitable for Excel I think.But as for registration, check out some Google links on these terms: php registration, php login, php cookies, php session, storing user data in MySQLThose should contain some really good info that should help you. Good luck. :)

Conceptually, your task is pretty simply:

• a spreadsheet is nothing more than a csv text file (comma delimited text) but if you have any open text the user can submit (i.e. a comments area) where they might enter a comma in their post, then you will have to specify tab delimited - either way, start with notepad, create your first "record" in the file with the field headers call it registration.tab and upload it to your server
  • use a server side scripting language to append this file when someone clicks the submit button - make sure registration.tab is not write protected.
  • create a separate file called registration-notification.xxx (xxx = php, asp, or cfm depending on the scripting language you prefer)
  • code this page to send the email to your desired recipients attaching the registration.tab file that is on your server and is update as stated above.