Adding Keys to Existing Array

Diegar

If i pull data from the db like this: $getTopArray = mysql_fetch_array($getTopResults) or Die (mysql_error());...it seems to pull everything into the array without setting a key to each item. What i want, is to have the first item assigned to 0, the second item 1, and so on.Is there a way to add keys to pre-existing arrays? Even better, is there a modification i could do to that line i already have to add keys automatically?I am new to arrays, so sorry if this is a dumb question.

Every element in an array has a key. You can't have a value without a key. If you want to see the structure of the array, you can use this:var_dump($getTopArray);Make sure to view the browser source code instead of what the browser shows.

...it seems to pull everything into the array without setting a key to each item. What i want, is to have the first item assigned to 0, the second item 1, and so on.
This is actually the default behaviour of returned arrays.Arrays can't exist without keys. If a key is not explicitly given, PHP assigns the smallest available number, starting from 0. $getTopArray[0] should already return the first result of the $getTopResults query.If you wanted to assign a custom key to an existing array, you'd just do for example $getTopResults['stringKey'] or $getTopResults[10] (for numeric key).

I went over arrays in the PHP manual. I am not finding my answer, i don't think, on how to truncate my array.When i use:$getTopArray = mysql_fetch_array($getTopResults) or Die (mysql_error());.. it grabs everything from 'user', including username and password and location, etc...It also grabs the data for the 'name' fields, (ie 'name1', 'name2', 'name3' and 'name4').I am looking for a way to remove the first 6 lines in the array (0 - 5) and then everything after 'name4' (10 - 29).I tried going this route: