mysqli_connect

indiana06

Hi there i am new to this.My problem is that I get a message saying that the mysql_connect function is undefined.I have found that mysql is not connected to windows but I can use the command line prompt.When I try to reconfigure the instance it tells me that I can't connect to windows. It suggests a firewall but when I drop the firewall it still won't connect.It also suggests opening the port 3306 which I did but I still cant' get it to connect.I have been trying for seven days now with still no joy. I have got php talking to apache but I'm afraid this one's got me beat. Can anyone help please. :)

Did you compile your version of PHP with MySQL support?

In order to have [the MySQL] functions available, you must compile PHP with MySQL support.
Try creating a new page with this code:
<?phpecho php_info();?>

And see whether it says anything about MySQL.

Did you compile your version of PHP with MySQL support?Try creating a new page with this code:
<?phpecho php_info();?>

And see whether it says anything about MySQL.

Thanks synook i tried what you said and it still says fatal error call to undefined functionI have also found when trying to reconfigure the instance in mysql that I get a warning saying that it cannot connect to windows It says there might be a firewall problem so I Went into the windows firewall and opened up a port 3306 to let mysql run on windows but it still gives me the same answer I'm now sure that this is the reason but I still cant get it to work.i would be gratefull for any help as I am now getting really fed up with it. it's stopping me from getting any further and I am now learning nothing from this experience.

Hang on are you trying to use mysqli_connect() (as per your title) or mysql_connect() (as per your post text)?