navigation bar bottom color on DIV not showing

catorarn

I am a consultant in a content management team working for a global financial player. We face a serious CSS issue with the main horizontal navigation bar.The site is developed in DIV layout, styles all maintained in one CSS file. The issue can be described as the following:The navigation elements are produced by Interwoven TeamSite content management system. This means that there is an n amount of navigation items in the horizontal navigation bar with a maximum of 7 items (in below code there are 4 items). Because of the dynamic nature of the content, all positions must be relative. We preferred to use just floating divs without explicit positioning in CSS (position:relative). The navigation bar should have a page-wide green bottom line of 100% with 6px margin on the left and right. A selected navigation item should have a transparant or white bottom color. We choose to not have a bottom line when the navigation item is selected.We use a div called ebb_navigationSpacer which should complement the space between all navigation items and the rest of the screen. That navigationSpacer div should have a bottom green color so that the navigation bar remains solid across the page. We get the ebb_navigationSpacer extended 100% when we set div.ebb_navigation div.ebb_navigationSpacer {float:left;width: 100%;height: 1px;border-bottom-color: #009286;border-bottom-width: 1px;border-bottom-style: solid }However, what happens then is that the navigation will loose its behaviour of no bottom-color when an item gets selected. This because the horizontal line stretches 100% on top or behind this blank space.I hope to refer to CSS expertise through this forum.Cross browser compatibility in IE6/IE7, FF is required (Opera not required)Here is the code:The horizontal navigation bar html<div class="ebb_navigation"> <div class="ebb_navigationElementFirst"> <div class="ebb_navigationElementFirstInner"> <a href="/wps/openworld/ebb/germ