position border

unknown gamer

Hello, this is my first attempt at a css template.i have this code:

.header{background-color: transparent;background-image: url(images/Header.png);background-repeat: no-repeat;background-position:center; width: 600%;height:125%;border-style: double;border-width: 4px 4px 4px 4px;border-color: #AF936A;border-position: center;width:605px;height:130px;z-index:1;}

which gives you what i have here:HEREi'm trying to center the border and pic but i don't know how i tried border-position: center; that doesn't work and background-position: center; centers it within the border.- thanks

width: 600%;: Do you mean 600px?----width: 600%;height:125%;width:605px;height:130px;You're declaring width and height twice. The first ones will be ignored.----border-width: 4px 4px 4px 4px;: This is exactly the same as border-width: 4px;----border-position: center; This is useless, there's no such thing as a "border-position" property.----z-index:1;: This has no purpose at all unless you're using relative or absolute positioning.----I think you're trying to center the header class, here's your code fixed up:

body { text-align: center; }.header{background: url(images/Header.png) no-repeat center;border: double 4px #AF936A;width:605px;height:130px;margin: 0 auto;}

Lots of experiments and research over the years (well, about 3 years I've been at it). I occasionally check back at the W3Schools refrence, nobody can store a book in their heads.

Block elements (like <div>) are boxes.Margin will put extra space around the box (if it has a background color, you'll see the box actually get displaced).Padding will take away space from the edges of the inside of the box (if you have a background color you don't notice any difference with or without padding, however, the text inside will be pushed away from the edges).Border is also a part of the box, it goes within the margin and outside the padding. It also goes around the box.