Use JS to start MySQL queries.

shadowayex

I was wondering if it was possible to use the onload and onunload options to start mysql queries. The reason I want to do this is I want to keep track of when a user comes to a page and leaves a page (like the deals this forum has that tell us who's browsing in the forum).

This thing about the forum monitoring you are mentioning is a feature of the phpBB forum. Unless I am mistaken w3schools must be using phpBB. So they do it with php, not JScript. Now ... I am not an expert so don't take my word for it but I don't think you can do such a thing since Javascript is browser-side scripting and not server-side and I do not think there is any way around it.I mean .. imagine someone with malicious intentions checking your .js file and seeing your database password >_<

This thing about the forum monitoring you are mentioning is a feature of the phpBB forum. Unless I am mistaken w3schools must be using phpBB. So they do it with php, not JScript. Now ... I am not an expert so don't take my word for it but I don't think you can do such a thing since Javascript is browser-side scripting and not server-side and I do not think there is any way around it.I mean .. imagine someone with malicious intentions checking your .js file and seeing your database password >_<
True true... Then how do that do it. I wanna know T_T.

It would be possible although kinda hard to secure, but maybe something like a session variable would work. When the page is requested, have PHP log a random hash, the current timestamp, and any other info in the database, leaving a second timestamp field empty. Drop the random string into the JavaScript so it will send it back to the server via AJAX onunload. When the AJAX call is executed, check whether a timestamp field corresponding to the hash is still empty; if it is, fill it with the current timestamp.