Regular Expressions

jhecht

Ok, I've tried everything for this, but I'm seriously just stumped on this one. It's just a simple regular expressions problem I'm sure, but i'm not very good with regular expressions.I need to match text in a specific set of Comment tags. This is used for a template parser im creating simply because i don't like any of the free ones out there (including smarty, it throws issues with javascript in the template). The syntax will look something like this:

HTML will not be looped<!-- FOR loopname -->HTML for this loop that will be repeated<!-- ENDFOR loopname -->HTML will not be looped here either;

I've tried all sorts of things...

<!-- FOR (.*) -->(.*?)<!-- ENDFOR $1 -->//OR<!-- FOR (.*) -->(.*\s?)<!-- ENDFOR $1 -->//OR<!-- FOR (.*) -->([a-z0-9\s\S]+)<!-- ENDFOR $1 -->

And nothing seems to be working to what I wanted. I need for the second regular expression match to be anything, space, non space, word, html, anything at all. However, it doesn't seem to be matching at all (tested using preg_match_all with the /i modifier).It's entirely possible that this is a really simple issue with Regex, but I have no idea.