Beginner's PHP Book?

This week, I'd like to buy a book on PHP. I'm new to PHP or any C-based language, except for JavaScript (medium JS, 7.5 out of 10, if it helps :) ), so I'd like a book which will make me understand the language and its syntax.I was ready to purchase Learning PHP5 from O'Reilly, but I read some threads here, and Programming PHP was your recommendation, so I'd like to know which one should I buy. I had a look at both of them, and Programming PHP seems to go deeper on Strings, Arrays, Functions, Databases, Objects, it seems to have a better introduction, is newer, Rasmus Lerdorf is one of the authors, it has a bigger number of pages (a deeper explanation of what he's doing), but I'd like your opinions as well.

You might want to grab a copy of any of the books from Larry Ullman. Although it won't be a "reference Manual", Larry has an excellent manner of writing with complete understanding of the material at hand. He uses real world coding techniques which will assist you in developing good practices as well.I suggest you might begin by visiting his site at http://www.dmcinsights.com/ to review the three PHP books, each of which has two or more Editions. The success of the books is determined by his continuing to put out newer editions on a somewhat regular basis. And each book is an improvement, IMHO. there are beginners' books, Intermediate books and Advanced ones, too. Take your pick. Personally, I have the Dynamic Websites and the Advanced.