Are Multiple 'a' classes possible?

Isaiah 40:31

I've just gone through the CSS Basic Tutorial so I am VERY new to CSS.I am now familiar with multiple classes (I hope that's the correct term) for paragraphs. For example, I can code CSS for:p.first {color: white;}p.second {color: blue;}p.third {color: black;}And then call it in the HTML:<P class=first>Text in paragraph Class1</P><P class=second>Text in paragraph Class2</P>The question I have is: Can you do this with links for a:link, a:hover, a:active, etc - that is, can you have multiple styles for links?So some links will be Blue when you hover over them, and some will be White when you hover over them?

So what I'm trying to do, for example, is get the first link to go to yellow when I hover, and the second to go to white when I hover over it. But my code doesn't work:

<HTML><HEAD>   <style type="text/css">a.first:link {color: red}a.first:visited {color: orange}a.first:hover {color: yellow}a.first:active {color: green}a.second:link {color: blue}a.second:visited {color: black}a.second:hover {color: white}a.second:active {color: purple}</Style></HEAD><Body><CENTER> <P> <P><a class="first"><A HREF="link1.htm"><FONT SIZE="+2">My First Link</FONT></A><P> <P><a class="second"><A HREF="link2.htm"><FONT SIZE="+2">My SecondLink</FONT></A></CENTER></BODY></HTML>

Look at what you've done with your links, you've done this with your links.<a class="first"><A HREF="link1.htm"><FONT SIZE="+2">My First Link</FONT></A>You can put the first two parts together, you're starting of a link twice and ending it once. So as far as your script is concerned it doesn't know what to class if you see what I'm saying.If you put them togehter like this <A HREF="link1.htm" class="first"><FONT SIZE="+2">My First Link</FONT></A>That should do the trick.