Troubles with quotes

Mikeyham

I'm new to javascript, and want to write a switch statement that will make a button appear which will call a function with an argument that will display what day it is. The problem is, the way I'm doing it, there are too many quotation marks within other quotation marks. For example: var d = new Date();theDay=d.getDay();function displayDate(txt){alert(txt)}switch (theDay){case 0:document.write("<input type='button' value='Display Day' onclick='displayDate('Today is Sunday')' <== RIGHT HERE ...Today is Sunday is contained between the quotation marks within the argument parentheses thingy, which is contained within the attribute quotation marks, which is contained within the document.write quotation marks.I know that if you need to put quotation marks within other quotation marks, you use ' , but is there a 3rd "tier"? Thanks!

You will need to escape the ' (place a \ before the second ' mark).document.write('O\'Reilly');JavaScript will think you ended the string, and give an error when it doesn't recognize the rest, and when you join strings together, you would use + operator, and that would be another error since you didn't escape the string.