Smtp Error

behonest

Dear Guys,I am facing a problem in sending email whenever i try to send an email from a script an error occurs such as Warning: mail() [function.mail]: Failed to connect to mailserver at "localhost" port 25, verify your "SMTP" and "smtp_port" setting in php.ini or use ini_set() in D:\xampp\htdocs\mails.php on line 7Mail Sent. Can anybody guide me please.Infact i cant find a php.ini file in my localserver.There are two files such as php.ini-dist and php.ini-recommended.Should i create a new php.ini file if yes then how?Can i use an id like some1@hotmail.com in SMTP setting.IT will be very appericiated if anybody help me please.i am very new in this field.

Create a new PHP file and run it (open it in a browser):

<?phpphpinfo();?>

That will display a page about PHP, near the top it will tell you the config file that it's actually using. This page lists the locations where PHP looks for the file:http://www.php.net/manual/en/configuration.file.php

Yes i have found php.ini.It opens in notepad.I wrote some text for setting such as:[mail function]; For Win32 only.SMTP = localhostsmtp_port = 25; For Win32 only.;sendmail_from = behonest@hotmail.com; For Unix only. You may supply arguments as well (default: "sendmail -t -i").;sendmail_path = "D:\xampp\sendmail\sendmail.exe -t"But it gives the same problem.Please let me know if i have filled this fields correctly.

It looks fine to me. Keep in mind that if you want it to use a line, remove the ; before the line. It will ignore lines that start with ;, so it's not using your sendmail_from value. Also, obviously this actually needs a mail server in order to work. If you tell it that you have a mail server running on localhost port 25, and you don't, it's going to give an error that it can't connect to the mail server.