Why Php And Mysql? Are They Necesary?

josh.isCool()

OK so I've been through all of the AJAX tutorials and I was wondering why they all used PHP and MySQL to generate the XML files that the examples then parse.Couldn't you just directly load the XML files?I could see how a database would be useful for a more complicated application but do you have to use one?My other issue is I'm new to AJAX and XML and I wasn't looking forward to layering two more languages on top of that.I want to learn them eventually but for now I just want to keep it simple.

Hi JoshI'm also newbie, but it seems you're more newbie than me. :) I'll try to explain you some things, but time should show you I'm right.MySql is structured query language, where you store your data. Everything, just everything: text, pictures, all kind of graphics.You can keep all your net 'welt' on databases.When you make pages, design any kind of activities, you need php code to give a form, insert, design, write any kind of thing you mean is useful for you.Through php code, you upload, download, fetch and do many other things, which later on, when you learn these things, you'll notice make your job easy and safe.Try to download xampp (three servers in one), there you have phpmyadmin, a wonderful co relation between php and mysql.I will not attract your attention, better first get informed, do some exercises, and then ask more. Without these two things, forget, just forget to do anything serious on web.Courage and go on. :)

My other issue is I'm new to AJAX and XML and I wasn't looking forward to layering two more languages on top of that. I want to learn them eventually but for now I just want to keep it simple.