Dynamic content question

henrat

Hi guys. I'm new to web design and as a starting project I'm trying to build a website for my mates band. The theme is based around a Marshal guitar amp, with the navigation controls being on the amp head, and the content showing up in the cabinet. Clicking on one of the contols on the amp head will take you to a different section of the site.In the lyrics section I would like to have a list of the available song lyrics at the left hand side, which when clicked on would show up in the space to the right. I have currently got two div elements set up that are layed out as shown in this example.How would you recommend going about doing this? I have so far been sticking to XHTML 1.0 strict, and as far as I'm aware the iframe element is not valid for this? I also toyed witht he idea of using visibilty to show only the content that is required... I'm also learning JavaScript so could that be used at all? I need the practice! :)Let me know if you need to see any code or anything...Thanks in advance!Henry

I'm definitely not an expert, but I suppose you could but in a <div> with the content, and use style to make its positioning absolute (CSS Tutorial). Then set it in the cabinet using top and left styles (CSS Tutorial). Then create an image map with links on each of the controls. Using DOM you can change the content of the <div> clicking on each of the songs.Sorry, but making the code would take too long.Hope I helped!-Newbman :)

Cheers for the reply! Sorry I should have said, I already have the controls changing the content using an image map. Thanks though! It's just the lyrics thing I'm having trouble getting... It's ok you didnt put any code thats cool! But could you elaborate slightly on how I would use the DOM to change the content of the DIV? Sorry if thats a bit of a lame question...Cheers!