Misalligned Slices When Inserting Flash Video

AustinW

I'm building a basic html web page and attempting to insert either a .flv or .swf file. The aspect ratio of the video is 640 x 480, the same as the underlying gif. I'm new to web design and Dreamweaver so please excuse the lack of knowlege. I exported the video from Premier as a .flv, then publish it in Flash 8 as a .swf. My method of adding the video has been to insert it before a background element (gif based on photoshop slice) that's exactly the same dimensions as the video, 640 x 480. I have only recently discovered the slice tool in Photoshop, and am assuming that when adding custom buttons or videos in Dreamweaver, I should replace same-size gifs. Is this the correct method? No matter how I tweak the page in DW, I get a gap at the top or bottom of my video, which causes other background gifs on my page to not line up. Here's the page http://luminousink.com/bizport.htmlWhen previously building a site, I inserted Layout Objects, then inserted the video. I discovered however that depending on each computer's screen resolution, the elements on my site would shift all over the place. So far on this site, inserting rollover buttons that are the same size as the background slices has worked, without causing any shifting. But now, when trying to do the same thing with Flash video, the background gifs become misalligned.What is the correct way to insert video into a page and prevent if from shifting? Do I need to put in a table? Thanks for your help.

If you want a page to look correct you're going to have to code it yourself. These things happen when you let other programs write the HTML for you.Making a website out of a conglomeration of images is not very efficient.

If you want a page to look correct you're going to have to code it yourself. These things happen when you let other programs write the HTML for you.Making a website out of a conglomeration of images is not very efficient.