Function Declarations

GerryH

First, I have to commend all you folks that "give-back" your expert knowledge for free, a big thank you! :) My question is, you can declare a function 2 ways,

function myfunction1(myparams...){   ...}

or;

var myfunction2 = function(myparams...){   ...}

Is there any performance advantage to using one style over the other, or is it just symantics?And while I got your attention, quicky about global variables. As a C programmer, I know these of course are the evil of all mothers, but there are times when they are necessary. I understand the global namespace is finite, is there a way to determine the available space per client and how this would effect overall browser performance? (I couldn't find any results in a search for any such benchmark tests)Thanks again,Gerry

The main difference is actually scoping. If you define several functions the second way, they're only going to be available in the scope that they're defined in, so you could be more efficient with memory if you namespace the functions and then delete anything you don't need after you're finished with it (or just let it go out of scope and get cleaned up).For the second question, it's not possible to figure out how much memory a browser has available to use.