Where The Work Is At

Caitlin-havener

I am learning all this awesome stuff! I am a digital media major but I'm already getting really good at adobe suite, html and css. I've got other stuff under my belt as well. I just wanted to know, in your opinion, what script/code(s) should I look to specialize in that will have the most return in the future? I have been told Javascript, Flash... so many things... I'm looking to move to the Fla Keys next year too so it might need to be something I can do virtually or start a business. My love is web development and graphic design (I'm a nerd and an artist) <3

xml of course and by extension xslt, but try to master the fundamentals of DTD, very important even in an xml only context (not SGML) since they are the building blocks of all these meta languages.Scripting is good to know too but CSS is more important to begin.If you really want to master web technologies get a book, my recommendation:XHTML black book by Steven Holzner.Steer clear of so-called "bibles" as they are only really blanket references at the end of the day and serve little in the way of helping to gain understanding.

xml of course and by extension xslt, but try to master the fundamentals of DTD, very important even in an xml only context (not SGML) since they are the building blocks of all these meta languages.Scripting is good to know too but CSS is more important to begin.If you really want to master web technologies get a book, my recommendation:XHTML black book by Steven Holzner.Steer clear of so-called "bibles" as they are only really blanket references at the end of the day and serve little in the way of helping to gain understanding.
I've reviewed XML but could you give me a good idea for a website I could make to practice it? I don't really understand what exactly it is used for and why it is important.