CSS layout external or included

legacy800

Hi,Just a quick question..When using dreamweaver what do most of you select when making a new css style? Add to head or create new css file?I'm guessing with "add to head" it's easier to work with when coding manually since you are not switching back and forth all the time between the html and the css stylesheet.(I know if not handcoding you can edit css in css styles).I'm thinking a new css file would make for better organizing, since than you have a better overview.I'm a bit new to this, so I might be getting this all wrong though.What are the ups and downs with these options and what is best to do or is mostly done?Greets,Legacy

I don't think most of here use Dreamweaver, and standard practice is to use an external stylesheet. Most competent text editors allow you to view/edit multiple files at once, so switching back and forth between them fails to be much of an issue.

I use dreamweaver and in nearly all situations use an external style sheet. I code the design myself in dreamweaver great code view and then input content and stuff in design view. When you've got to do 100 product tables each with about 20 rows and 7 columns you'll be thanking God that you have design view. I've never used any of dreamweaver's add to head functions or similar before. I just create an external CSS document and then link my pages to it.

Either way you have to input the data from the products book into the website.
Right, but if you were to have all your products in a database you could use PHP and print the rows in your tables or even the tables themselves using loops, cutting your code down drastically.

When you've got to do 100 product tables each with about 20 rows and 7 columns you'll be thanking God that you have design view.
Or just thankful that you can use server-side language logic operators do it for you instead.