Show/Hide Multiple Objects (onMouseOver/Out)

Somebody's Fat

I'm essentially looking for any assistance regarding this issue. I'm by no means an expert of javascript.Bottom line: I'm creating a website with various menus that are visible/hidden depending upon rollover of a certain <td> area (Example below is "News"). The visible <table> then appears in 2 locations (I need them in 2 locations because I need an active mouseOut area that is NOT a perfect rectangle. This way, it avoids covering the active area of "Entertainment" up, etc.)MenuJavaHelp.gifI would love to use this as a script:

function showmenu(elmnt){document.getElementById(elmnt).style.visibility="visible"}function hidemenu(elmnt){document.getElementById(elmnt).style.visibility="hidden"}

Making the ID tags for the 2 tables change values to visible/hidden depending on the rollover. I was hoping this would work for the <td>:

onmouseover="showmenu('NewsBox','NewsMenu')" onmouseout="hidemenu('NewsBox','NewsMenu')"

...given "NewsBox" was the id for table 1 and "NewsMenu" the id for table 2.Unhappily, this didn't work. Why... I don't even know. I ended up doing this:

onmouseover="showmenu('NewsBox'),NewsMenuShow()" onmouseout="hidemenu('NewsBox'),NewsMenuHide()"

Where "NewsMenu" had its own function for changing visibility. This worked in IE. Firefox didn't like it. After some more troubleshooting, I found that if I removed this from my html file:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">

Then it DID work in Firefox. Anyway, at this point, I'm lost. I'd like to keep the DOCTYPE in the file, but I need the menus to work in all browsers. Perhaps I'm going about this all wrong and there's an easier way that I don't know about. If anyone can help, I'm all ears... or eyes I should say.

onmouseover="showmenu('NewsBox','NewsMenu')" onmouseout="hidemenu('NewsBox','NewsMenu')"