Writing my asp codes

steveaj

Please just as you all know, I am a newbie. I have been trying to write my first asp codes to view what I have inputed and to know areas where I will need to put more effort just like I did when I was studying html, javascrip and css. All my effort to view my first asp page was in vain.I want to quickly explain what I did that yielded no result. First, I went on the internet and look for iis manager which I was able to get and download from microsoft website. I installed the iss manager and then wrote my first asp code, I save it with .asp extension and I open my web browser (Microsoft Internet Explore 6) and on the address bar I typed http://localhost/myWeb/form.asp That was because the name of the file is form.asp and I first created a folder in the wwwroot folder and the folder is called myWeb. So when I tried the above method, it proved abortive, I still could not see my first asp page.The next thing I did was that I went and bought Win XP Professional cd (which is the os I have on my machine) I installed iis from windows component thinking I have done the utmost thing but still I couldn't view my first asp page. All I have been doing all this while was only to read and understand and I have been understanding everything I am reading from the asp tutorial but it's just to view the asp page that matters now and it's like I cannot move futher from here because of that problem. I wanted to continue studying other things like sql, ado but I still discovered that most sql codes are used in ado and ado isanother form of asp. As the files are still saved with the .asp extension I still have problem accessing it. Please somebody should help me out so that I can still continue in my chosen career. For more than a week ago, I have not studied anything new because of this problem. Please let somebody tell me the exact thhing I still need to do which has not been done. As for the asp tutorial which I studied, I have done all the tutorial said