Commenting Script

larsson719

Hello all. I'm fairly new to PHP and MySQL; I've been experimenting with the two using a very simple commenting script and a very simple registration/login script. I have fiddled around with the scripts and I can get them to work separately. This is good, since I have no prior experience with either languages but I'm hoping to be able to make the two work together as a whole.To help you understand the problem I'll use a simple XHTML/CSS-driven website as an example. The website contains some articles the webmaster would like to add a comments feature to. In order to add a comment the user has to fill out a form with the following fields: Name, E-Mail(optional), and the Comment Box. After some time the webmaster realizes there is too much spam and wants to make the comments feature available only to authenticated users.Now we get to the point where I am stuck. I have found a simple, yet effective, user registration system which can be found here. I have even fiddled around with the script and taken off some unnecessary features(yes it still functions properly). My only problem now is to somehow make the two systems work together as a whole. What I am hoping to achieve by doing this is:

• Hiding the comment form from unregistered users
  • Replace the form with text instructing the user to register
  • Registered members will be to see the comment and comment