Trying to get Ajax to work

watagal

Greetings,I'm new at AJAX, reading "AJAX for Dummies" and can't get the first listing to work. Here's my HTML code (ajax.htm):

<html><head>	<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">	<title>AJAX Testing</title>	<script language="javascript" src="../Code/JS/ajax.js"></script>	<script language="javascript" src="../Code/JS/browser.js"></script>	<script language="javascript">		var oAjax = new newAjaxConnection();		if (!oAjax ) alert("Ajax Error initializing XMLHttpRequest!");	</script></head><body>	<h1>Fetching Data from Server:</h1>	<form>		<input type="button" value="Display Ajax Data" onclick="getAjaxData(oAjax,'file1.txt','divAjax');"><br>		<input type="button" value="Display Browser Type" onclick="checkBrowser('divBrowser');"><br>	</form>		<div id="divAjax"><p>The fetched data will go here</p></div>	<div id="divBrowser"></div></body></html>

The 'checkBrowser()' code works so I know my JS code is being loaded and I can write to a <div> section on my browser page.My 'ajax.js' code looks like this:

function newAjaxConnection(){	var o = false;	// if Microsoft	try {   o = new ActiveXObject("Msxml2.XMLHTTP");	}	catch (e) {  try { 	 o = new ActiveXObject("Microsoft.XMLHTTP");  }  catch (e2) { 	 o = false;  }	}		// if not Microsoft (Mozilla, Firefox, Safari, Opera, ...)	if (!o && typeof XMLHttpRequest != 'undefined')	o = new XMLHttpRequest();	return o;}	// newAjaxConnection()function getAjaxData(oConn,dataSource,divId) {	if (oConn) {  oConn.open("GET",dataSource,true);    oConn.onreadystatechange = function() { 	 if (oConn.readyState == 4 && oConn.ststus == 200) {    document.getElementById(divId).innerHTML = oConn.responseText; 	 }  }  oConn.send(null);	}}	// getAjaxData()

The 'file1.txt' resides in the same folder as 'ajax.htm' and contains one line that looks like this:

<h2>************** This was fetched from the server using Ajax *********************</h2>