regex to get id and date from string

thescientist

Hey.So I am working on a mobile mail web app, and I need to implement a different sort of fetching of messages from an IMAP server due to performance issues. Unfortunately I have very little regex experience and need some help accomplishing the retrieval of data from the response.Sample Response

* 1 FETCH (FLAGS (\Seen) INTERNALDATE " 2-Jul-2009 20:12:11 -0400" RFC822.SIZE 1462)* 2 FETCH (FLAGS () INTERNALDATE " 2-Jul-2009 20:21:25 -0400" RFC822.SIZE 1462)* 3 FETCH (FLAGS () INTERNALDATE " 2-Jul-2009 20:33:53 -0400" RFC822.SIZE 1461)..* 25 FETCH (FLAGS () INTERNALDATE "11-Jul-2009 06:31:59 -0400" RFC822.SIZE 1491)

The first number is the messageId and in between the quotes is a timestamp of the message as it was received. I need to be able to get the number _and_ the date out. I have the date using it's own preg_replace_all, and I'm sure I can do the ID just as easily, and then loop though both match arrays and make a cumulative multidimensional array such as each index would be a corresponding ID and timestamp.However, I am a wondering if a regex could somehow do them both at the same time (and what might that look like), or should I try and extract each piece of info out separately and then "merge" the two arrays into a custom structure that I can use in my app?Thanks in advance for any advice and consideration.edit: if anyone has any advice on how to just get the ID, that would be helpful too... :)edit edit: I guess I could just explode on the * and get the text before the first space.

edit edit: I guess I could just explode on the * and get the text before the first space.
you just need the number right?if so explode '* 'then explode ' 'that would get you the id number.EDIT: as far as getting the date. you have a discrepancy in format. the top 3 have a space after the " and the last one doesn't.