Google Geo Map Api

chasethemetal

Hey all. I'm not a javascript whiz. I am a beginner slowly getting better. I am working with the Google Geo Map API right now, and I can't figure out how to change a var when a region is clicked. My problem is the var "options['region'] = 'world';" needs to be changed to the contents of "(regionData)". Right now when you click the region it will fire off the region code in alert(regionData). But instead of firing that in an alert I need it to change say "options['region'] = 'world';" to "options['region'] = 'US';" Any help would be appreciated! Heres the full code below. <script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.google.com/jsapi"></script> <script type="text/javascript"> google.load('visualization', '1', {packages: ['geomap']}); function changeRegion(regionData){ alert(regionData); } function drawVisualization() { var data = new google.visualization.DataTable(); data.addRows(4); data.addColumn('string', 'Country'); data.addColumn('number', 'Popularity'); data.setValue(0, 0, 'United States');data.setValue(0, 1, 166);data.setValue(1, 0, 'Canada');data.setValue(1, 1, 10);data.setValue(2, 0, 'Iran');data.setValue(2, 1, 10);data.setValue(3, 0, 'United Kingdom');data.setValue(3, 1, 8); var options = {}; options['region'] = 'world'; options['width'] = '760px'; options['dataMode'] = 'regions'; var geomap = new google.visualization.GeoMap( document.getElementById('visualization')); google.visualization.events.addListener( geomap, 'regionClick', function(e) { changeRegion(e['region']); }); geomap.draw(data, options); } google.setOnLoadCallback(drawVisualization);</script><div id="visualization"></div>

The options variable is a local variable inside the drawVisualization function, so nothing else has access to it. You would need to make it a global variable, or move the code that updates the value into the drawVisualization function. It's best to remove the changeRegion function and put that code in the event handler for regionClick.