Find multiple texts/symbols in a string

stefan1294

Hello, I am pretty new to JavaScript, but I am working on a project. Currently I have to find a way to determ if a postalcode is an correct postal code. (A dutch postal code) For that I will have to confirm if two correct letters are entered in the form.I think my explanation is really unclear, so I will try to make it more clear for everyone. The postal codes in The Netherlands look like this: 1234 AB. In one place, e.g. Amsterdam, they use the letters "AA, AB, AC, AD, AG, AH, AJ" etc. The script has to look for one of those letters with the correct combination (AA, AB, AC, AD, etc). If I enter a different combination (e.g BA), it should give me the alert "This postal code is incorrect". I have absolutely no idea how to do this, and googling didn't do much as I do not know the keywords I have to look for. Here is an example of my current, not working, script:

var postalcodes = /(AA|AB|AC||AE||AH|AK|AL|AM|AN|AP|AR|AS|AT|AV|AW|AX|AZ|BA|BB|BC)/g;var a=document.forms["form"]["postcode"].value; if(a.match(postalcodes))  {   alert("Correct!");   return false; // Just doing return false to test the code  } 

I also tried "a.Search()", didn't work neither. Do you guys have any idea how I can do this?

Edited by stefan1294

I think this might be part of the problem:AC||AE||AH You have a ! operator here, this means that the postal code is correct if the expression is not matched:!a.match(postalcodes)

• Like 1

No, the two bars are actually one of the mistakes in your expression. Have you read my post? One of the problems is that you're outputting "Correct" when the postal code is wrong.

• Like 1

No, the two bars are actually one of the mistakes in your expression. Have you read my post? One of the problems is that you're outputting "Correct" when the postal code is wrong.
I fixed that already :P - The real problem is not fixed :( Edited by stefan1294

Be sure to check the error console.