Installing vld, and other php extensions

terryds

I'm so confused in installing vld and other php extensions... :(FYI, i know vld (Vulcan Logic Disassembler) from http://fabien.potencier.org/article/8/print-vs-echo-which-one-is-faster Can you please tell me how to install it ? I'm very new to the LINUX (i think) language... :blush: coz i'm using Windows...Please tell me step by step.... :blush: (from opening the command-line that i don't know where to open to installing and using that thing)

Linux is an operating system, not a language. In order to do anything like this you'll need SSH access to your server so that you can log in and run the commands to install new software. I use Putty as an SSH client when I need one. SSH is how you access the command prompt on the server, but it requires privileged access which you don't get from free or some shared hosts. The page you linked to has instructions specific to VLD, more general instructions for PHP extensions are here: http://mattiasgeniar.be/2008/09/14/how-to-compile-and-install-php-extensions-from-source/

I've installed PuTTY.. Now, what ? What will the setting be?I've changedthe translation to UTF-8,selection to xterm,data-->Auto-login username to root,Preferred SSH protocol version to 2 only,Host Name = localhost, and the port = 80,Connection type = SSH,then i click 'open'An error message appears ('The server unexpectedly close the connection')..Can you help me ?