How do I call and execute an HTML select from within my PHP code?

jxfish2

I am calling hundreds of records from a MySQL database.

Each record has been formatted to fit on a single line, formatted using HTML, so that the output appears neat and clean.

For each record that is displayed, I want to include a drop-down box, at the beginning of the line, that will allow a user to update the current status for that particular record.

Essentially, there will be a drop-down box for each and every row.

The data is retrieved from the database, and stored in an array.

For each line or record read in, the HTML select statement needs to be called, and the resulting values need to be displayed in the drop-down box, in column 1 of the output. (I may need a submit button to be included for each line, but I'm not sure at this point.)

To be honest, I'm new to PHP and HTML, but I've been shell scripting for years.

Once the values in the Select box have been changed, a SQL UPDATE command needs to be run against the MySQL database, for each record that's been changed.

All of the code, to include SQL queries, loops, arrays, and HTML page formatting, are already in place, and working as intended.

The only piece remaining, is the dropdown box, for each record, and the SQL UPDATE calls. (I know how to write the SQL UPDATE commands, I just don't know how to call them from this dropdown box.)

I found numerous examples of how to call PHP from within HTML, but have not found any examples of how to call a from within my PHP code.

I'm not very good with java script, but I do know how to call an external java script. The issue is that I need the dropdown box to appear in the array, as if it were just another data field in my output display.

I've searched numerous boards, but nobody has posted anything close to what I need at this point.

Note, that of the hundreds of records that are displayed, the user / viewer may only update 2 or 3 rows on the entire display.