learning area

Ok I have actually tried for my first major script, I was doing great, I followed some advice, put together my own ideas into it, and came up with the perfect solution for validation and email, now I was trying to get a little fancier and throw in some other stuff, I also upgraded the way I coded xhtml/css and started doing it more neat, and more commented, on my site I said that that's what I believe, and I was trying now to go even further, I also read a post on here from someone named crayon violent and I started following advice so far as far as general structuring of php and it's helped a lot, I know I am not that good at structuring it yet but I will get better. Here is the problem I am encountering, and need help with.

<?phpif (isset($_POST['subscribe'])){	$error = ''; if ($_POST['name'] == '') {	$error[] .= print 'The name field was filled in incorrectly, please correct<br/>'; }if ($_POST['email'] == '') {	$error[] .= print 'The Email Field was filled in incorrectly, please correct.<br />'; }if ($_POST['verifyemail'] != $_POST['email']) {	$error[] .= print 'The email Fields Do Not match, please correct.<br />'; }if (is_array($alert)) {	foreach($error as $key => $correctthis) {	echo '$correctthis'; >>> }else{ $connection = mysql_connect('localhost', 'cantsay, 'definitelynote'); $selectdb = mysql_select_db('stillalittletoomuchinfo');  if(!$connection && !$selectdb){	print 'Problem during database connection or selection';	}else {	$insert = 'INSERT INTO cantsaytablename (name, email) VALUES ("{$_POST[name]}", "{$_POST[email]")'; 	}if(!mysql_query($insert)){	print 'The information could not be inserted into the database';	}else{	echo 'successfuly completion of all processes';free();disconnect(); }};

It tells me that the else statement isn't good on a specific line, here is the error.

Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_ELSE in /home/all/funnyemailforwards/public_html/dbprocessing/signuphandler.php on line 13