Would this code have created a protected status?

jekillen

Hello:

I believe I have established a design pattern that would establish what other oop languages

call protected. It would apply to the variable value and functions returned from _firstObj() to

first in _secondObj().

I am really a hobbyist who has been learning bit by bit over a number of years. I don't remember

seeing anything in texts like O'Reilly's Javascript: The Definitive Guide, or similar Apress publications

that specifically address this issue in javascript.

I was wondering if anyone here with more extensive knowledge could evalutate this.

I have posted this query not only for my own edification, but for anyone who could

benefit from this, who might visit for the learning experience.

In this I was experimenting to see if I could set the 'private' variable someVal

by using the _firstObj function both as an object construtor and as a normal function

call.

I have also attached a fully standalone html page that can be used to play with this.

function _firstObj(a) { var someVal = a; var setVal = function(d) { someVal = d return 0; } var show = function() { return {'value':someVal} } return {'value':someVal,'show':show,'set':setVal}; }function _secondObj() { var first = new _firstObj('This') // object construtor this.setOtherObjProperty = function(a) { return _firstObj(a) // as a normal function call } this.showFirst = function() { first.show() } this.run = function(c,d) { return first[c](d) } }

protectedObjects.html

Javascript doesn't really have a way to handle protected members, because it doesn't have classic inheritance. There's not a way to say that a certain property can be set in the class or object that defines it, but not in things that extend that class or object. There are ways to approximate private variables, but you can't do protected.

Just to clarify (and not to be argumentative)