Blog-like DB structure

lugos

Hello,I'm relatively new to SQL and databases in general. I am not too familar with the terminology. I want to do a personal website where I can post messages and allow people to respond (similar to a blog). For the database structure/design, I was thinking of having one table for my original message, and in that table including an INT column that the database automatically increments every time a new row is created (it will be a unique field). The number generated by the database will then be used as a key/identifier in another table that contains the responses. That key/identifier will be used to link the responses to my original message. I hope that makes sense.So basically my question is if this sounds like it can work? Also, feedback and/or suggestions will be greatly appreciated. If there is a better way I would gladly consider it.Thanks,lugos

I usually make a column named ID, int type, unsigned, auto_increment, primary key, for every table, even if it will never actually be used. So what you are saying sounds very logical.

I was thinking of having one table for my original message, and in that table including an INT column that the database automatically increments every time a new row is created (it will be a unique field).  The number generated by the database will then be used as a key/identifier in another table that contains the responses.  That key/identifier will be used to link the responses to my original message.  I hope that makes sense.So basically my question is if this sounds like it can work?