document.write workaround help

chazzledazzle

Hello all,I am very new to JavaScript, and I am trying to get a page to include today's date, as well as a countdown to a specific date. For today's date, I am using:

<script language = "javascript" type="text/javascript"><!--today = new DateweekDayName = new Array ("Sunday","Monday","Tuesday","Wednesday","Thursday","Friday","Saturday")monthName = new Array ("January","February","March","April","May","June","July","August","September","October","November","December")function printDate(){document.write("<b>" + weekDayName[today.getDay()]+ ", " + monthName[today.getMonth()] + " " + today.getDate()+ "</b>")}--></script>

The problem is that I am using a WYSIWYG editor that does not like the 'document.write' script. It says that 'if I do not remove the offending code (their words), then IE will crash.' :) As a workaround, I am trying to put the code into a js doc, and call it up with a <div> tag, as instructed by the tech help, but it isn't working. Does anyone know how to do this? I might have left out pertinent pieces. Any and all help is truly, truly appreciated. Thanks! :)

You might try the HTML DOM to do this:

<div id="dateDisplay" /><script language="javascript" type="text/javascript"><!--	var today = new Date();	var weekDayName = new Array ("Sunday","Monday","Tuesday","Wednesday","Thursday","Friday","Saturday");	var monthName = new Array ("January","February","March","April","May","June","July","August","September","October","November","December");function printDate(){	var obj = document.getElementById("dateDisplay");	obj.innerHTML = weekDayName[today.getDay()]+ ", " + monthName[today.getMonth()] + " " + today.getDate();}--></script>