Just Checking

ATM

I recently started learning mysql and haven't been able to set it up yet, but I was wondering if the following code will work;

<?php $mysql_servername="" ?><?php $mysql_username="" ?><?php $mysql_password="" ?><?php $mysql_database="" ?><?php $mysql_tablename="" ?><?php $mysql_fieldname="" ?><?php $mysql_password_field="" ?><?php $mysql_xml_reference="" ?><?php $username=$_POST["username"]; ?><?php $password=$_POST["password"]; ?><?php $connect = mysql_connect( $mysql_servername, $mysql_username , $mysql_password ); ?><?php mysql_select_db( $mysql_database , $connect ); ?><?php $login = "SELECT * from $mysql_tablename WHERE $mysql_fieldname='$username'"; ?><?php $fetch_array = mysql_fetch_array($login)); ?><?php if ($fetch_array['$mysql_password_field']="$password"){$xml_reference=$fetch_array['$mysql_xml_reference'];} ?><?php mysql_close($connect); ?>

The code is firstly meant to connect to my sql, then get the username and password send from a form, it's then ment to look to see if the username exists in the table of data and if it does it's meant to check to see if the passwords match and then if they do it's meant to get another field, which will contain a url and put that url into a variable.Thanks,

First of all you only need one bracket and you did not end your variables with ;Here i made it more clean and it should work