Separating PHP from HTML

Kevin M

Just want people's opinions. I'm working on a very large PHP/MySQL project. I've never really used databases before, so I'm still learning some things. My question it though, is it better to seperate the PHP from the HTML, or have it together? So would this be better:

<?php//PHP Code here?>HTML Stuff<?php//More PHP Code here?>

or this:

<?php//PHP Code Hereecho 'HTML Suff';//More PHP Code Here?>

Or does it not really matter. Basically, would it be better to echo the HTML tags/content, or seperate the PHP into code blocks and have the HTML code display?Thanks,Kevin

I'm betting you know my answer to all of this... separation via... *see my profile title* or perhaps Smarty.From the two samples you've given however, there's a fine line. If the HTML is generated by PHP, it must be outputted by PHP (be it a simple echo or... something else). If it's static HTML (which is available on every page that this PHP page generates) it should be placed outside of the PHP enclosures.