Some Beginning Javascript Questions (really dumb probally)

walterb

Hey everyone,Im totally new to learning Javascript and have been learning it from here as well as webdevelopersnotes.com also and i have a few questions as im learning...Id greatly appreciate if someone could explain them in a very basic manner so that i could understand them!===============alert("He said \"JavaScript's the best!\"");Why Does the Above code not cause a Javascript Error Due to conflicting "" Marks at the end of the code? Im sure those backslashes have something to do with it and im aware of the special functions you can use with backslashes such as \t or \n but What Does a blank backslash due to make this code work?==================<script LANGUAGE="JAVASCRIPT" TYPE="TEXT/JAVASCRIPT">Is this the ONLY Javascript Beginning code that is EVER used? I know that the script language is Always gonna be javascript but What about the type? Are there other types aside from "text/javascript"? ==================<script LANGUAGE="JAVASCRIPT" TYPE="TEXT/JAVASCRIPT">document.write("I love JavaScript");Okay,So i know this is a VERY basic line of code that simply writes "i love javascript" into the window (without the quotes of course!) but Is this Code Ever USED? or is it to show an extremely basic function of javascript instead? How practicle IS Using code like this when you could instead just type I love javascript without the code and be done with it? ===================<A HREF="somelink.html" onmouseover="document.bgColor='#FF0000';window.status='Dangerous color'" onmouseout="document.bgColor='#FFFFEE'">Link</A>Okay,So the following code is supposed to display a new Background Color with mouseover with a different bg color on mouse out...When i tried it in Firefox this wasnt the case and the bg color didnt change...Is this code wrong? i didnt do it myself so i dont think so....Or am i missing something? Also where exactly is the "window status" bar on a browser? Is that the part at the bottom l