PHP to MySQL

k3n3t1k

I've been having alot of trouble when trying to Insert data into a MySQL Database from a PHP script. Does anybody know why it wont insert the information?

• 1 month later...
No, no one knows. Perhaps if you gave details about your problem or posted the code you're using we could help.
Hi guys, I have a similar question. I've seen some threads around the forum regarding this topic, but nothing helpful to me. I am trying to learn PHP from scratch (I've had some experience in customizing the existing code, but now I am trying to do something myself) and I am going through PHP tutorials on this page and I am stuck at this point:My SQL INSERT ----> Insert Data From a Form Into a DatabaseManual insertion at the beginning works, db is fine, tables are fine.But when I try to insert it from a form (via combination of html and insert.php) ---> the html part works fine, but when I click on submit query, Dreamweaver opens instead of entry being inserted in the sql via insert.php script as shown in the tutorial. I guess it doesn't recognize the php structure? What am I doing wrong?
<html><body><form action="insert.php" method="post">Ime: <input type="text" name="ime" />Priimek: <input type="text" name="priimek" />Klub: <input type="text" name="klub" />Starost: <input type="text" name="starost" />Goli <input type="text" name="goli" /><input type="submit" /></form></body></html>

don't mind the foreign words (they are name, surname, club, age, goals)

<?php$con = mysql_connect("localhost","******","*******");if (!$con)  {  die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());  }mysql_select_db("hokej", $con);$sql="INSERT INTO igralec (Ime, Priimek, Klub, Starost, Goli)VALUES('$_POST[ime]','$_POST[priimek]','$_POST[klub]','$_POST[starost]','$_POST[goli]' )";if (!mysql_query($sql,$con))  {  die('Error: ' . mysql_error());  }echo "1 record added";mysql_close($con)?>

At first glance it seems to be equal to the one in the tutorial.Thanks