KKFilosof

boen_robot

For those of you that don't know me long enough, I'm a last year high-school student (18 years old, 12th grade as by our educational system).My school never really had a site (the external link you'll see is for a sort of "secondary" school to mine) so somewhere at the end of last year, I made a site for them athttp://kkfilosof.hit.bg/However, I'm not a designer, so the site doesn't look very appealing in my personal opinion, so I'd like to read any suggestions you may have about it.As for the code, there are a few things I need to note:1. DTD is not present (though you'll see it commented), because the site is served as XML. IE however doesn't support XHTML, so it downloads the DTD as it would do for any XML document. This however is VERY slow, so I decided to drop it for the sake of performance.2. If you look at the validation link, you'll see the documents are (or at least should be) tentatively valid anyways.3. The warnings about encoding - the server serves files as ANSI, but I have them as UTF-8 for the sake of XML parsing and internationalization. It's a bummer I can't change encodings, I know, but I'm stuck with the host. I've made an odd mix of encoding declarations to ensure it's all OK everywhere.Oh, and for some reason, with JS disabled, Opera gives "XSLT processing failed" error, which is quite odd, considering the fact the JS is CDATA-ed. If anyone happens to know a cure for that, I'd appreciate it.Any non-design suggestions would be great too of course.

Thanks for the comments.

1. The external link. - it's not a site to "another" school. My school is divided in two parts - one for 1st to 4th grade, and one bigger for 5th to 12th grade. The small building had a site and the teachers insisted I put a link to it somewhere. If not on the front page, where would you suggest I put it? Btw, the text above it says "You can find information about the school's small building at *link*".