Legal or not?

ze1d

Hi all,I was thinking about creating a website that directly links to tv shows online videos such as (prison break, lost, etc).. I'm not gonna host videos on my side ... I will just link to the episodes from my website.is it legal .. or is there any responsibility??Thanks,zeid

There used to be a website called tv-links.com that did the same that your intended on doing. The owner (well..former owner now) is currently sitting in jail due to copyright violations.However..i dont get how he did something wrong as he wasn't hosting anything..only linking to stuff on youtube, google and other various sites. But in the eyes if the law, he did something wrong. So, if you intend on doing something the same..expect to be locked up.:)

I'm no lawyer, but it seems to me that simply linking to the websites that show these videos cannot be against any laws as long as the user is actually taken to those websites when the click on the link. On the other hand, if you plan on just finding the URLs to the videos and making it so that people can view the videos without seeing all the advertisements on the corporations' websites, then a lot of people are going to be out of a lot of money and that's when the law steps in.

what about tv-links.co.uk??Taken From http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/technology/200...r_linking_.htmlTV Links shut down for linkingFact claims that tv-links.co.uk was providing links to illegal film content that had been camcorder recorded from cinemas and then uploaded to the internet. The site also provided links to TV shows that were being illegally distributed.Is the message that it's less criminal to host illegal content on YouTube than it is to to link to it from a site such as TV Links? Or is it just that FACT (Federation Against Copyright Theft) and the police won't tackle anybody with enough high-powered lawyers to fight back? Is The New Freedom blog correct in saying: "They just have so much money that they have become above the law."