Php Code Is Appears In Web Browser

rjosepht

I am new to PHP and have been following the W3 PHP tutorial, from the beginning.In addition, I am using "PHP Designer 2007 - Personal" to test the code I am learning.Every example given in the tutorial has worked as described, until I reached the "Array" section.The following code works find in the debugger, providing the correct response, however,the code is appearing in the Web browser (this did not happen with any of the previous examples provided by W3)_________________________________________________________________________________________________<html><body><?php$families = array ( "Griffin"=>array ("Peter", "Lois", "Megan"), "Quagmire"=>array ("Glenn"), "Brown"=>array ("Cleveland", "Loretta", "Junior") ); echo "Is " . $families['Griffin'][2] . " a part of the Griffin family?" . "<br />";?></body></html>_______________________________________________________________________________________________The debugger shows the following:Is Megan a part of the Griffin family? (I expect this is the desired output)While, the browser is displaying the following:array ("Peter", "Lois", "Megan"), "Quagmire"=>array ("Glenn"), "Brown"=>array ("Cleveland", "Loretta", "Junior") ); echo "Is " . $families['Griffin'][2] . " a part of the Griffin family?" . ""; ?> The code seems simple enough, but I have not been able to figure out why it is appearing in the browser, particularly since all of the preceding tutorialexamples did not behave the same way.I'm certain the answer is right in front of me, but being a "newbie", I don't see it.Any guidance will be greatly appreciated.RJ

Are you testing this code on your local machine? It has to be hosted in a server environment for it to work. That means either setting up a local instance of Apache, or uploading your files to a remote webhost. The code looks fine, by the way.