Simple as pie(unless you have no pie cutter)

petersrin

Here is my background: self taught through dreamweaver, internet, and forced experience. Not very advanced, and I run into simple syntax problems that are assumed to be known by all tutorials. I do have a good bit of experience with programming and logic in general and am a quick study, because I do my research. Here is my code:

<html><head><script type="text/javascript">function mouseOver(){test.style ="visibility:hidden"}function mouseOut(){test.style ="visibility:visible"}</script></head><body><a name="test" target="_blank" id="test" style="visibility:visible" onMouseOver="mouseOver()" onMouseOut="mouseOut()">Peter S.</a></body></html>

Should be simple, put a mouse over text: Peter S. and the text goes away, move off and it appears. The ONLY reason for this page is to learn to call functions, yet it won't be called. I tried changing the action to a popup box, and other actions, but to no avail. Interestingly, I coppied the example code for a onMouseOver function directly from w3schools.com. Any help, obviously, would be appreciated.BTW:var PieCutter = "Syntax Understanding"IF Peter Contains PieCutter THEN "output the right stuff!"ELSE"Do what always happens to Peter anyway, throw up an error!"(Just a bit of sillyness.)

Well, the function is being called. One way to check this is to simply put an alert statement in there like this:

<html><head><script type="text/javascript">function MouseOver(){test.visibility="hidden";// alert('MouseOver');}function MouseOut(){test.style.visibility="visible";// alert('MouseOut');}</script></head><body><div id="test" onmouseover="MouseOver()" onmouseout="MouseOut()"><a name="test" target="_blank">Peter S.</a></div></body></html>