Trouble with div Alignment

Zeke

Hi. I know Im new here, but I was wondering if anyone had any advice for me. Im having alot of trouble getting the foundation for structuring a website together. If it helps, Im not here to get a quick answer and then jet off, I'm in this to learn and keep going. I am extremely new to codeing but am attempting to learn everything I can.Ok so in theory, I create a containing Div tag, that everything goes into.So lets say I want a centered banner, a nav on the left, a content section in the middle, and another nav on the right.So, it's basically, a containing div around all of that to start with. Now are there any special attributes I should be setting for this div? Ill start it at 800px wide

div.container {width:800px;margin-left:auto;margin-right:auto;position:relative;background-color:#ffffff;}

The margin-left/right are there to center it. The relative position is to make it relative to the previous element, being the <body>tag(?) so it centers on that?(trying to understand this, so be gentle).Ok so if that is correct.(im assuming the height comes into play when I input more data.Next I want the center banner.So

div.banner {width:600px;height:20px;left:100px;background-color:#ffffff;position:relative;border:1px solid green; }

Skipping the obvious, I want it centered; so I made it left 100px because the center div tag is 800 px(800-600=200=100px on each side). Now is that the best/appriopriate way of aligning an element? Also, if I want some space between the top of the div.container and the banner, do I use <br /> or top padding? (I am imagining <br />)Im kinda screwed here, and it's really bugging me to be honest. I now want to create a nav on the left a content section in the middle and a nav on the right.But how do I do this? :S Before I even get to the right side im screwed