how to use/what to do with return $value; in JS

helloise

have this in my javascript code but have no idea on how a returned value works/where does it return to???? what do i do/or can i do with a value that gets returned???i am asking this so i can learn on how to use it cos i am new to all this and dont know how it works...please show/explain to me please?thankshere my full code:PHP Code:<?php use_stylesheets_for_form($form) ?> <?php use_javascripts_for_form($form) ?> <html> <head> <script type="text/JavaScript"> function refreshPage(s) { window.location.reload(); if((s.options[s.selectedIndex].value) = "zed-catcher") { var $index = s.selectedIndex; var $value = s.options[$index].value; alert (s.selectedIndex); alert ($value); window.location.reload(); return &value; //where does it return to ???? how/what to do with a return value??? } } </script> </head> </html> <body> <form action="<?php echo url_for('adminservice/'.($form->getObject()->isNew() ? 'create' : 'update').(!$form->getObject()->isNew() ? '?id='.$form->getObject()->getId() : '')) ?>" method="post" <?php $form->isMultipart() and print 'enctype="multipart/form-data" '?>> <?php if (!$form->getObject()->isNew()): ?> <input type="hidden" name="sf_method" value="put" /> <?php endif; ?> <table > <tfoot> <tr> <td colspan="2"> <?php echo $form->renderHiddenFields(false) ?>  <a href="<?php echo url_for('adminservice/index') ?>">Back to list</a> <?php if (!$form->getObject()->isNew()): ?>  <?php echo link_to('Delete', 'adminservice/delete?id='.$form->getObject()->getId(), array('method' => 'delete', 'confirm' => 'Are you sure?')) ?> <?php endif; ?> <input type="submit" value="Save" /> </td> </tr> </tfoot> <tbody> <?php echo $form->renderGlobalErrors() ?> <tr> <th><?php echo $form['name']->renderLabel() ?></th> <td> <?php echo $form['name']->renderError() ?> <?php echo $form['name']?> </td> </tr> <tr> <th><?php echo $form['logo_url']->renderLabel() ?></th> <td> <?php echo $form['logo_url']->renderError() ?> <?ph