Errors In Php Scripts

T1000Android

Hello all. I am just learning about PHP and the tutorial told me to put the setcookie() and session_start() functions before the <html> tag. The problem is that i get these errors: Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/monday/public_html/vlad/PHP in HTML.php:3) in /home/monday/public_html/vlad/PHP in HTML.php on line 4Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at /home/monday/public_html/vlad/PHP in HTML.php:3) in /home/monday/public_html/vlad/PHP in HTML.php on line 8Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/monday/public_html/vlad/PHP in HTML.php:3) in /home/monday/public_html/vlad/PHP in HTML.php on line 8Views=2 Same kind of error i get with the file upload script. Is the problem from my end or from the server end? The server isn't local.

setcookie() does have to be before everything else.session_start() has to be before EVERYTHING on the page, it has to be the VERY FIRST element in the page. So this means if you are starting a MySQL connection before the html, you need to put Session_start() before THAT. Understand?

setcookie() does have to be before any content on the page because cookies are sent with the headers. Make sure there aren't any spaces, tabs or line breaks before the opening <?php tag, and be sure that you don't use any echo statements or close the <?php ?> block before sending any headers.

The start of the PHP file looks like this:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd"><?phpsetcookie("user", "me", time()+1800);?><?phpsession_start ();$_SESSION['views']=1;if(isset($_SESSION['views']))$_SESSION['views']=$_SESSION['views']+1;else$_SESSION['views']=1;echo "Views=". $_SESSION['views'];?><html><head>