How to link pages in a CSS layout

MarkDF

Newbie here. I designed my website with framesets. In the next update, I want to eliminate them because I keep reading how awful they are. Here's a simple version of the problem I can't get my head around with CSS and HTML:I have two frames, a narrow lefthand menu frame with links that open new pages in the righthand content frame. For example's sake, let's say they're two links that open two different pages in the main content frame. That's three separate html docs.Conceptually, I understand how to visually mimic that in CSS by using a container and two boxes. What I'm having are hard time understanding is how to mimic the linking. Am I now creating two html docs that contain the same menu info in the left box and different content in the right box (in addition to the .css) so that when I click a link to Page 2, the entire page refreshes? Or is there an html code I use in the menu box that refreshes the content box only (can that even been done)?Sorry if this is obvious. I feel like there's an obvious concept I'm not getting.

css doesn't replace frames, a css layout replaces a table layoutServer side includes i would say is replacing frames.

Or is there an html code I use in the menu box that refreshes the content box only (can that even been done)?
It can be done, you would then turn to javascript to do this.

css doesn't replace frames, a css layout replaces a table layout