PHP Syntax

mdsimmons

I'm a newbie with PHP code, but I've successfully built simple email forms... however, I can't seem to get the syntax right for capturing boolean results -I have a form with three checkboxes and a submit button. Depending upon which boxes are checked, I want to accumulate total values for each... for example:if $box1 is checked (true), add 35.00 to $total1,if $box2 is checked (true), add 40.00 to $total1,if $box3 is checked (true), add 45.00 to $total1,Display $total1.It should be simple, but I've missed something.Doug

The php should look like this

$box1= $_POST['box1']; $box2= $_POST['box2']; $box3= $_POST['box3'];if ($box1 == "y") {$total1+=35.00;}if ($box2 == "y") {$total1+=40.00;}if ($box3 == "y") {$total1+=45.00;}

And the html inputs should look like this

<input type="checkbox" name="box1" value="y" /> <input type="checkbox" name="box2" value="y" /><input type="checkbox" name="box3" value="y" />

Well, I was close, but no cigar! I had the beginning code right, but missed the if statements; used the wrong quotes; and the wrong accumulator (+=)I assume that if any box is not checked, that particular element { } won't fire, but will fall through to the next?I appreciate the quick response to my problem. Doug

I rewrote my code as you suggested, and it seems to work, but now I can't get the $total1 value to display after manipulation.I tried:$total1 = $_POST['total1']; . . .. . .echo "Your total is: " . "$total1";and a couple of variations of that, but nothing displays.I also included <input type="text" name="total1" value="0.00">in the html form.Doug

put $total1 = 0; before the if statements, other wise it will equal null if nothing is "y".Then it should display something.also it would be better to use:echo "Your total is: " . $total1;or:echo "Your total is: $total1";

I tried your suggestion... still no result: Here's my code -