How to link HTML page to CSS file

winwin

Hi,I'm new to this forum and very much new to web site designing. Resently I came to know that by using CSS one can save a lot of time in redesigning or maintaining a site.Could someone please explain me how to creat this CSS file and how to link HTML pages to this CSS file.I have little knowledge about CSS but don't know how to link these two ( CSS and HTML)

create a css file, save as lets say "styles.css"make sure the css file is in the same directory as your html fileinclude:<link href="styles.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">in the document HEAD of the html file.e.g.<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd"><html lang="en"><head><title>#</title><link href="styles.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css"></head><body>etc. etc.

Hi,I'm new to this forum and very much new to web site designing. Resently I came to know that by using CSS one can save a lot of time in redesigning or maintaining a site.Could someone please explain me how to creat this CSS file and how to link HTML pages to this CSS file.I have little knowledge about CSS but don't know how to link these two ( CSS and HTML)
Hi Win WinI'm also new to CSS. I can highly reccomend the tutorials in W3Schools. ALso once you sort of know what you're looking for, just google for it and you'll find quite a few CSS templates out there that you can modify and customise to suit your needs. I have found this the best way to get to grips with CSS. Also, I use an HTML editor with a built in viewer, this is a great way of seeing your changes straight away without having to upload them to a server or open a seperate browser.

Also, I use an HTML editor with a built in viewer, this is a great way of seeing your changes straight away without having to upload them to a server or open a seperate browser.